Advertisement From Our Sponsors

SfAA/AAA Margaret Mead Award

Margaret Mead portrait in sepiaThe Margaret Mead Award, offered jointly by the American Anthropological Association (AAA) and the Society for Applied Anthropology (SfAA), is presented to a younger scholar for a particular accomplishment, such as a book, film, monograph, or service, which interprets anthropological data and principles in ways that make them meaningful to a broadly concerned public. The award is designed to recognize a person clearly and integrally associated with research and/or practice in anthropology. The awardee’s activity will exemplify skills in broadening the impact of anthropology — skills for which Margaret Mead was admired widely.

Nominees for the 2023 award must have received the PhD degree after January 1, 2011 (ten years or less ago). Each application must include the nominee’s curriculum vitae, 2 letters of recommendation describing the accomplishment and documenting its impact on relevant publics beyond the discipline, and four copies of the book or film.

Nominees’ contributions will be judged using the following criteria:

  • intellectual quality
  • clarity and understandability
  • the extent or depth of impact and
  • breadth of impact.
  • The selection committee consists of two persons appointed by the Society for Applied Anthropology and two persons appointed by the American Anthropological Association.

Please send nominations and four copies of supporting materials to the Margaret Mead Selection Committee at the following address:

Society for Applied Anthropology
P.O. Box 2436
Oklahoma City, OK 73101-2436
Phone: (405) 843-5113
FAX (405) 843-8553
E-mail gro.orhtnadeilppa@ofni

Deadline for receipt of materials is February 15 each year. Supporting material will not be returned unless specifically requested.

The 2023 Award winner will be announced during the 2023 Annual Meeting of the American Anthropological Association. Presentation of the Award plaque and stipend will be made jointly by the SfAA and AAA during the Annual Meeting of the Society for Applied Anthropology in Spring 2023.

Past Recipients

Read about past award recipients.