2021 OpEd Project Project Finalists Selected

The OpEd Project’s mission is to increase the range of voices and the quality of ideas we hear in the world. Their “Write to Change the World” workshops are based on time-tested models of transformational learning. Participants will explore the source of credibility, the patterns and elements of persuasion, the difference between being “right” and being effective, and how to think bigger about what they know to have a greater impact in the world.

The AAA finalists selected include members with a diverse background, a representation of the four subfields, and geographically located across a broad spectrum of the U.S. The finalists’ expertise also covers a range of topical issues, including international politics, migration, global health, environmental justice, health disparities, social injustice, and gender and racial inequities. Members selected for the 2021 AAA-sponsored attendance are:

  • Anya Maeve
  • Ilana Gershon
  • Ayala Fader
  • Sarah Horton
  • Morwari Zafar
  • Kathryn E. Graber
  • Elena Aydarova
  • Kirsten Vantschip
  • Elizabeth Durham
  • Julie Spray
  • Martha Lincoln
  • Mara Buchbinder
  • Vilma Seeberg
  • Matt Nesvet
  • Sarah Strauss
  • Tracy Rone
  • Alvaro Jarrin
  • Signithia Fordham
  • Jill DeTemple
  • Laura Wangsness Willemsen

Chip Colwell, Paul Stoller, Maria Vesperi, Robin Valenzuela, Sindre Bangstad, and Caitlin Zaloom have agreed to share the wisdom accrued through their own public writing experiences by serving as mentors to this year’s cohort of participants.

The overarching idea is to publish our anthropological scholarship and expertise so that our leaders and the public get the information and ideas they need to make the best decisions. OpEds aren’t the only answer, but they’re a great start to an increased public awareness of the important contributions made by our field.

Keep an eye out for their OpEds in your favorite publications!

Past Recipients 

View the 2020 Cohort
View the 2019 Cohort