

American Anthropological Association Election Results 2023

AAA EXECUTIVE BOARD

- AAA President-Elect (2-year term, followed by 2-year term as President) Carolyn Rouse
- AAA Executive Board Archaeology Seat (3-year term) Sarah Jackson
- AAA Executive Board Biological Seat (3-year term) Jennifer Raff
- AAA Executive Board Linguistic Seat (3-year term) Joel Kuipers
- AAA Executive Board Undesignated Seat (3-year term) Dominic Boyer

AAA Nominations Committee

- AAA Nominations Committee Biological Seat (3-year term) Achsah Dorsey
- AAA Nominations Committee Linguistic Seat (3-year term) Elise Berman
- AAA Nominations Committee Undesignated Seat (3-year term) Mary Gray

AAA Members Programmatic Advisory and Advocacy Committee

- Members Programmatic Advisory and Advocacy Committee Anti-Racism/Social Justice Seat (3-year term) Justin Haruyama
- Members Programmatic Advisory and Advocacy Committee Ethics Seat (3-year term) Alison Dundes Renteln



- Members Programmatic Advisory and Advocacy Committee Practicing/Professional Seat (3-year term) Teruko Mitsuhara
- Members Programmatic Advisory and Advocacy Committee Student Seat (3-year term) Tyanna Slobe
- Members Programmatic Advisory and Advocacy Committee World Seat (3-year term) Lucia Isabel Stavig

SECTIONS

American Ethnological Society

President-Elect (2-year term) Carole McGranahan

Councilor (4-year term) Doreen Lee

Anthropology & Environment Section

President-Elect (2-year term) Nikhil Anand

At-Large Seat (2-year term) Juliet Erazo

At-Large Seat (2-year term) Tom Özden-Schilling Bastian Thomsen

Student Seat (2-year term) Janaki Mohanachandran

Anthropology of Consciousness

At-Large Seat (anthropologist) (3-year term) Lisa L. Gezon

At-Large Seat (non-anthropologist) (3-year term) Richard Choquette



Student Seat (3-year term) James Roszel

Archaeology Division

President-Elect (2-year term, followed by 2-year term as President) Christopher B. Rodning

Editor-Elect/Program Editor (3-year term) Verónica Pérez Rodríguez

Social Media Seat (2-year term) Rachel Horowitz

At-Large Practicing Professional (2-year term) Jay V. Haigler

Association for Feminist Anthropology

President-Elect (2-year term, followed by 2-year term as President) Elise Andaya

Secretary (3-year term) Brady G'sell

Program Chair (3-year term) Dinah Hannaford

At-Large Seat (3-year term) Mythri Jegathesan

Association for Political and Legal Anthropology

President-Elect (2-year term, followed by 2-year term as President) Elif Babul

Association for Queer Anthropology Co-Chair (2-year term) Zhiqiu Benson Zhou

Treasurer (2-year term) Brian A. Horton

Association for the Anthropology of Policy



Secretary-Treasurer (3-year term) Aaron Thornburg

Student Seat (2-year term) Christopher C. Fuglestad

Proposed Bylaws Change-Adopted

Association of Black Anthropologists

President-Elect (2-year term) Todne Thomas

Secretary/Treasurer (2-year term) Bertin M. Louis, Jr.

Association of Indigenous Anthropologists

President-Elect (2-year term, followed by 2-year term as President) Courtney Lewis

Secretary-Treasurer (2-year term) Terry Scott Ketchum

Student Seat (1-year term) Viki Eagle

Association of Latina/o and Latinx Anthropologists

Secretary/Treasurer (3-year term) Cecilia Vasquez

Association of Senior Anthropologists

Treasurer (2-year term) Margo Smith

At-Large Seat (2-year term) Richard Feinberg

Student Seat (2-year term) Dillion Cartwright

Biological Anthropology Section

At-Large Seat (2-year term)



Michelle Cameron

Secretary-Treasurer (3-year term) Marc Kissel

Council for Museum Anthropology

At-Large Seat (2-year term)—2 positions Sowparnika Balaswaminathan Annissa Malvoisin

At-Large Seat (2-year term)—2 positions Jason Baird Jackson Amanda Guzmán

Student Seat (2-year term) Molli Ann Pauliot

Council on Anthropology and Education

President-Elect (1-year term, followed by a 1-year term as President and one year as Past President) Char Ullman

At-Large Seat (3-year term) Sarah Newcomer

Critical Urban Anthropology Association

Councilor (3-year term) Omnia Khalil

Culture and Agriculture

President-Elect (1-year term) Seth Murray

Secretary-Treasurer (2-year term) Maia Dedrick

At-Large Seat (web) (2-year term) Sarah Franzen

General Anthropology Division

Communications Officer (2-year term) Joshua Babcock



Membership and Events Officer (2-year term) Lisa Cuellar

At-Large Seat (2-year term) Sarah Grant

Middle East Section

President-Elect (2-year term, followed by 2-year term as President) Zainab Saleh

Secretary (3-year term) Eda Pepi

At-large Seat (3-year term) Narges Bajoghli

National Association for the Practice of Anthropology

President-Elect (2-year term) Suanna Crowley

Secretary (2-year term) Briana Nichols

At-Large Seat (2-year term) Abby Vidmar

Student Seat (2-year term) Eric Gauldin

Society for Anthropological Sciences

President-Elect (2-year term followed by 2-year term as President and 2-year term as Past President) Max Stein

Secretary (2-year term) Sevgi Demiroğlu

At-Large Seat (3-year term) Michael Thomas



Student Seat (2-year term) Elizabeth Bingham Thomas

Society for East Asian Anthropology

President-Elect (2-year term) Hyang Jin Jung

Councilor (2-year term)-2 positions Isaac Gagne Nan Kim

Student Seat (2-year term) Xinyu Guan

Society for Economic Anthropology

President-Elect (1-year term) Daniel Murphy

Secretary (3-year term) Brie Berry

At-Large Seat (3-year term)-3 positions Erika Kuever Heangjin Park Nishita Trisal

At-Large Seat (Archaeology) (3-year term) Brigitte Kovacevich

Student Seat (2-year term) Seyma Kabaoglu

Society for Humanistic Anthropology

President-Elect (2-year term followed by 2-year term as President and 2-year term as Past President) Petra Rethmann

At-Large Seat (3-year term) 3-postions Kristina M. Jacobsen Tamara Kohn Amina Tawasil



At-Large Seat (2-year term) 2-postions Rose Wellman Helena Wulff

Proposed Bylaws Change-Adopted

Society for Latin American and Caribbean Anthropology

Treasurer (3-year term) Julio Villa-Palomino

Prizes/Awards Councilor (3-year term) Kenneth Seligson

Nominations Councilor (3-year term) Kate McGurn Centellas

Councilor AN (3-year term) Shaozeng Zhang

Councilor Website (3-year term) Benjamin Junge

Student Councilor (3-year term) Tannya Islas

Proposed Bylaws Change-Adoped

Society for Linguistic Anthropology President-Elect (2-year term) Jillian R. Cavanaugh

Secretary-Treasurer (3-yer term) Netta Avineri

At-Large Seat (3-year term) Kathryn Graber

Society for Medical Anthropology

At-Large Seat (3-year term)-4 positions William Lucas



Carlos Martinez Jane Leslie Saffitz

At-Large Seat (2-year term) Kristen Hedges

Society for Psychological Anthropology

President-Elect (1-year term followed by a 2-year term as President) Jason Throop

At-Large Seat (3-year term) Mara Buchbinder

Society for the Anthropology of Europe

Secretary (2-year term) Lauren Crossland-Marr

Treasurer (2-year term) Elizav Elżbieta (Ela) Drążkiewicz

Program Chair-Elect (2-year term) Ida Susser

Projects Chair (2-year term) Tracey Haterington

At-Large Seat (2-year term) Grazia Ting Deng

Society for the Anthropology of Food and Nutrition

Secretary-Treasurer (2-year term) Shannon Caplan

Society for the Anthropology of North America

President-Elect (2-year term, followed by 2-year term as President, 2-year term Past President) Ana Croegaert

Secretary (2-year term) Melissa Checker



Treasurer (2-year term) Jennifer Erickson

Member At-Large (3-year term) Shalini Shankar

Society for the Anthropology of Religion

Treasurer (2-year term) Jacob Hickman

At-Large Seats (2-year terms)—4 positions Michael Edwards Angie Heo Candace Lukasik Elayne Oliphant

Society for the Anthropology of Work

Secretary (3-year term) Alexander Blanchette

Student Seat (2-year term) Ramsha Usman

Society for Visual Anthropology

At-Large Seat (3-year term)- 4 positions Antonio Coello Nell Haynes Steven Rousso-Schindler Matthew Raj Webb